• PIMA

Invitation to Webinar in Climate Justice and ALE series on 30 March 2021

Updated: Apr 13, 2021


Co-hosted by PIMA, CASAE and SCUTREA


Climate justice and related struggles: aesthetic, creative and disruptive strategies


There are a range of responses to the enormity of global climate crises.

They range from denial; to the belief that technology is the answer; some feeling ‘green fatigue’; others, particularly youth and young adults, living in a state of ‘climate anxiety’. There is, however, another group of people; a cadre of feminist artists, activists and educators who refuse to accept, to ignore, to remain silent or to disappear into fear.

This webinar focuses on their aesthetic, creative and disruptive strategies.

At a time when the world is beset by a looming climate crisis, these public educational practices offer inspiration as the imagination of the possible.


Host: Shirley Walters, PIMA President


Moderator: Darlene Clover, feminist, scholar-activist,

professor at University of Victoria. Canada


Speakers:


Victoria Foster, United Kingdom


Victoria Foster is involved in social and environmental justice education.

She is based at Edge Hill University, UK. She is particularly interested in arts-based methodologies underpinned by feminist epistemology.

Her book, Collaborative Arts-based Research for Social Justice (2016, Routledge), provides a rationale for employing this approach in community settings.


Hannah Geldeman, Canada


Hannah Gelderman (she/her) is an artist, educator and organizer who

recently completed a Master of Education in Leadership Studies.

Her focus is on the role of participatory visual arts in this era of climate crisis


Njabulo Chipangura, Zimbabwe


Njabulo Chipangura works at the National Museums and Monuments of Zimbabwe

as an archaeologist and is based in Eastern Zimbabwe at Mutare Museum where he has led innovative educational work using an exhibition of diamond mining to create a forum for public dialogue and critical debate.


Date: 30 March 2021

Time: 08:00 PST; 15:00 BST; 17:00 CAT; 20:30 IST

Venue: ZOOM


Please register in advance for this meeting

https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJApdu2ppjMsHdFMMCLj4vlF7_1Wfq6eqNpY


For information address CASAE | ACÉÉA casae.aceea@csse.ca


After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing

information about joining the meeting.

Along with the ZOOM link, you will be sent a link to short films

which you are requested to watch beforehand.


 
PIMA 4th webinar report April 21
.docx
Download DOCX • 62KB

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Over the last eighteen months PIMA, in collaboration with the Canadian Association for Studies in Adult Education (CASAE), Adult Learning Australia (ALA) and Standing Conference on University Teaching