top of page
  • PIMA

Invitation to Webinar in Climate Justice and ALE series on 13 Oct 2021

Co-hosted by PIMA, ALA, CASAE, SCUTREA


Ecofeminism makes sense.

Towards life-affirming Adult Learning and Education (ALE)


Climate justice, including social, gender, and economic justice, is attained by foregrounding the needs and interests of the people who have contributed least to climate catastrophes yet are most affected by them. Due to unequal patriarchal divisions of labour and exploitative practices, the majority of women around the world carry primary responsibility for putting food on the table and taking care of ecosystems, families, and communities. Ecological breakdown, capitalism, and patriarchy are closely inter-linked and undergird the environmental catastrophe that is unfolding. Ecofeminism, a discourse that began in the late 1980s, remains a useful theoretical framework because it refuses to separate entangled dimensions of life. It presents a change in paradigm from separation to interconnectedness, from the mechanistic and reductionist to the relational and holistic. This webinar will explore ecofeminism – its theory and practice - and in particular, its application to the principles and practices of a life-affirming ALE.



Date: 13 October 2021

Length: 75 min

Time: PDT 8am (Vancouver); 16:00 BST (London, UK); 17:00 CAT/CEST (Harare, Berlin); 20:30 IST (India); 02:00 AEDT (Sydney)

Please register in advance for this meeting:

Join Zoom Meeting


Meeting ID: 882 7324 6469

Passcode: 690915

PROGRAMME:

Speakers:

  • Jacklyn Cock is Professor Emerita in the Department of Sociology at the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa, where she is also a Research Professor in the Sociology of Work Unit (SWOP). Her lifetime research interests are Environment, Gender, Violence, Political Economy.

  • Serap Brown, is a Turkish poet, film-maker, adult educator, and Ph.D. student who is using ecofeminism and decolonization in her praxis to reimagine relations to water utilizing the arts, including film, music, poetry. She believes that ecofeminist principles are fundamental to addressing the climate emergency through life-affirming ALE.

Plenary Discussion


In preparation for the webinar, you’re invited to read/view:

Skosana, D. & Cock, J. (2020) African women’s lives in the time of a pandemic.“Our existence is resistance”: women and the challenge of the climate crisis and Covid19 pandemic lockdown in mining-affected communities in South Africa. https://www.swop.org.za/post/our-existence-is-resistance-women-and-the-challenge-of-the-climate-crisis-and-covid-19-pandemic

I am River. Brown, S. (Producer). (2019). [Video/DVD]. Victoria, BC, Canada. Shaw Communications. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HWa5kfgx3dQ



PIMA Webinar Invite 13 Oct 2021
.pdf
Download PDF • 324KB




81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Skills for 21st Century Needs?

A special webinar on the challenging aspects of skills development in an era of uncertainties and crisis was hosted by PIMA in December 2023. We are pleased to supply you with the recording of the web

WEAVING TOGETHER OUR STORIES OF NATURE AND PLACE

Please find below a link to the recording of the Climate Justice Education webinar held on the 24th May 2022. We hope you can take the time and enjoy the discussion. https://youtu.be/8GNrCP9DWkg

Comments


bottom of page